All the Flowers in Paris

All the Flowers in Paris

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
Two women are connected across time by the city of Paris, a mysterious stack of love letters, and shocking secrets sweeping from World War II to the present for readers of Sarah's Key and The Nightingale . "Sarah Jio weaves past and present in this eminently readable novel about love, gratitude, and forgiveness. I tore through the pages!" New York Times bestselling author Christina Baker Kline When Caroline wakes up in a Paris hospital with no memory of her past, she's confused to learn that for years she's lived a sad, reclusive life in a sprawling apartment on the rue Cler. Slowly regaining vague memories of a man and a young child, she vows to piece her life back together though she can't help but feel she may be in danger. A budding friendship with the chef of a charming nearby restaurant takes her mind off her foggy past, as does a startling mystery from decades prior. In Nazi-occupied Paris, a young widow named Céline is trying to build a new life for her daughter while working in her father's flower shop and hoping to find love again. Then a ruthless German officer discovers her Jewish ancestry and Céline is forced to play a dangerous game to secure the safety of her loved ones. When her worst fears come true, she must fight back in order to save the person she loves most: her daughter. When Caroline discovers Céline's letters tucked away in a closet, she realizes that her apartment harbors dark secrets and that she may have more in common with Céline than she could have ever imagined. All the Flowers in Paris is an emotionally captivating novel rooted in the resiliency and strength of the human spirit, the steadfastness of a mother's love, and the many complex layers of the heart especially its capacity to forgive. "Heart-stopping . . . Fans of emotional, romantic stories set during World War II will enjoy this heartbreaking tale of love and loss." Booklist
Publisher: 2019
ISBN: 9781101885062
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
readmorebooks
Feb 13, 2020

I just couldn't get into this book. Too much bad things happening to good people. I know that this was going on during the war and that bad things do happen to nice people but over and over again was just too much for me. A little girls mother is killed by a Nazi and a mother loses her child when her hair gets caught in a swimming pool filter. Sorry, maybe another time when I'm more in the mood for a sad story.

a
Adw555
Jan 27, 2020

Stars: ⭐⭐⭐

Historical/present day drama...

PLOT SUMMARY: Present day Caroline, and 1943 Celine are both facing different challenges. For Caroline, a biking accident has left her with amnesia. She is struggling to remember who she is, but determined to absorb all the positive experiences currently coming her way. Perhaps she doesn’t really want to remember at all, if those memories are sure to bring back the pain that seems to have been part of her life...

In 1943, widower Celine is desperate to protect her daughter Cosi and her endearing father in German occupied Paris. But this will prove to be very difficult when her father’s Jewish heritage is revealed to the Nazis. What horrors will this family face? Are they strong enough to survive?
And just what ties these two women together?

PROS: All the Flowers in Paris has strong female characters and a beautiful yet haunting setting.

CONS: I’ve been a long time fan of Sarah Jio’s books - I usually find them to be comforting, consistent, easy sort of reads. I really struggled with this one however - perhaps a stronger element to combine the two stories was needed, in order for them to flow better.

YES or NO: This one is a MAYBE - if you’re into quiet, WWII stories, you’ll enjoy it.

3 Stars

g
googiej
Nov 01, 2019

Great story, just too many holes in the plot to be believable.

m
MichelleEvelyn1977
Sep 23, 2019

Very good book. I really liked the intertwining story between the two women across time. I found it to be a bit predictable, but still a solid read. It kept me turning the pages with bated breath all the way to the end.

a
AnneCarolineDrake
Sep 19, 2019

Seattle author Sarah Jio has imagined what might have happened if by some miracle Anne Frank had survived. Caroline, an American living in Paris, is hit by a truck in 2009 and has amnesia. Her apartment was occupied by a Nazi officer during WWII.

The widow Celine has a bit of Jewish blood. She and her father run a flower shop in Paris where the Nazi officer encounters her and falls in immediate lust.

Caroline is far more interested in learning the story behind letters from WWII she finds hidden in her apartment than she is in ferreting out her own identity and history. Several people in her orbit know her story, but they leave it up to her to surface her memories. It makes for an interesting plot, but it also distracts from the story's credibility.

I'd love to read a sequel about Cosi.

b
brendaivy1
Sep 04, 2019

couldn't put this book down, it was awsome

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top