The Night Diary

The Night Diary

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries- Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.

Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.

Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.
Publisher: New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2018
ISBN: 9780735228511
Branch Call Number: J HIR
Characteristics: 264 p. :,map;,22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
CoreneBee Apr 19, 2018

It is not only Nisha's heart that is breaking, but her entire country is being torn apart. The year is 1947 and Nisha is celebrating her twelfth birthday. She receives a diary in which she records her everyday life in India, her worries about her twin brother who is struggling in school, and conf... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ArapahoeErinR May 10, 2018

What do you do when your country falls apart and neighbors now become enemies? Nisha struggles to understand how gaining independence from Britain can tear her country apart and why people of different faiths can no longer live together. This book is as relevant for today's world as it was in 1947 when this story takes place.

CoreneBee Apr 19, 2018

It is not only Nisha's heart that is breaking, but her entire country is being torn apart. The year is 1947 and Nisha is celebrating her twelfth birthday. She receives a diary in which she records her everyday life in India, her worries about her twin brother who is struggling in school, and confides her hopes and dreams to her mother, who passed away the same day she was born. All of these worries seem small when a random stroke of the pen by a British official divides her country in two: a Muslim side and a Hindu side. But Nisha's mother was Muslim and her father is Hindu. Where does she belong? What follows is a breathtaking debut that brings the Partition of India to life in heartbreaking detail. The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani is a must read for historical fiction fans.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top