White Houses

White Houses

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by "one of the most intriguing relationships in history"*--between Eleanor Roosevelt and "first friend" Lorena Hickok.

Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, "Hick," as she's known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. She moves into the White House, where her status as "first friend" is an open secret, as are FDR's own lovers. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death. Through it all, even as Hick's bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life.

From Washington, D.C. to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan's Washington Square, Amy Bloom's new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity.

Advance praise for White Houses

"Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away." --Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife

"A novel of the secret, scandalous love of Eleanor Roosevelt and her longtime friend and companion Lorena Hickok, who relates the tale in her own, quite wonderful voice." --Joyce Carol Oates

"Lorena Hickok is a woman who found love with another lost soul, Eleanor Roosevelt. And love is what this book is all about: It suffuses every page, so that by the time you reach the end, you are simply stunned by the beauty of the world these two carved out for themselves." --Melanie Benjamin, author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue *
Publisher: New York : Random House, c2018
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780812995664
Branch Call Number: BLO
Characteristics: x, 218 p. ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
Goodbooks04
Aug 04, 2018

Good read. Found it dragged in many parts. Not as good as the reviews said it would be.

b
blustocking
Jul 24, 2018

a wise and accomplished work, sensual and sad

c
Colleenita
Jul 13, 2018

Lively, enjoyable, very credible love story. Intriguing voice, with a well-developed sense of the time and personalities.

fineplan May 16, 2018

Hickok's blunt, but gossipy, way of speaking carries this tale of politics and love. It's a short, breezy historical fiction novel but has a lot to say about the relationships that are impossible to let go no matter how difficult things can be. Even if Roosevelt and Hickok's relationship is not confirmed in history, their love feels genuine here. There's also plenty of fun gossip about their contemporaries.

l
laphampeak
Mar 13, 2018

I guess I was spoiled for having previously read "Loving Eleanor" that was based on the same relationship Eleanor Roosevelt had with "Hick". The book came out in 2016 and gave a delightful political background along with it. For readers who have not been exposed to the intimate realtionship between Eleanor and Hick it will be a lovely read. It was an enjoyable read albeit on the fluff side.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top