All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
78
27
14
 …
SOON TO BE A NETFILX FILM, STARRING ELLE FANNING AND JUSTICE SMITH! The New York Times bestselling love story about two teens who find each other while standing on the edge. Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for-and manages to find- something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school-six stories above the ground- it's unclear who saves whom. Soon it's only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. . . . "A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars , and basically anyone who can breathe." -Justine Magazine "At the heart-a big one-of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." -The New York Times Book Review "A heart-rending , stylish love story." - The Wall Street Journal "A complex love story that will bring all the feels ." - Seventeen Magazine " Impressively layered, lived-in, and real ." ;Buzzfeed.com
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780385755900
Characteristics: 1 online resource
data file, rda

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
PMPL_AnaC Aug 26, 2016

Starting with the good things: the writing is beautiful, I enjoyed the double POVs (as in many YA novels these days), the love story is necessary and cute and everything that readers from this genre like, the theme is serious and we need more books that talk about mental illness.

However, I co... Read More »

Goodreads Young Adult Fiction award


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
Alexis_W
Apr 20, 2021

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is a heart-wrenching YA contemporary novel that follows Finch and Violet, two teens struggling with depression and suicidal thoughts. When they run into one another on the edge of a bell tower, they save one another from their suicide attempts, and after pairing up for a project together, Finch and Violet discover the wonders of their state and fall in love--but when Violet’s mental health beings to improve, Finch’s sinks lower than it ever has before.
This was an eye-opening novel that helped me to understand even more deeply the struggles of mental health. Some moments, the pacing of the book seemed off, causing me to skim, but overall the story was well-done. 4/5 stars!

v
violet_dog_1955
Apr 17, 2021

All the Bright Places absolutely broke me, yet I would recommend it to anyone. It’s so important for everyone to read because it is so charming and reminds you of what life is about. The development of the love story is so sweet and it really brings the reader into the story. I also loved how the characters changed throughout the story. The switching from Violet’s to Finch’s perspective was wonderful- and really made the reader step into the character’s shoes. The ending of this book, as I mentioned, was heartbreaking and had me crying into my pillow at 3 in the morning because I stayed up all night to finish the book. And yet- it was so worth it.

s
sarahmokhtari
Apr 16, 2021

All the Bright Places follows the stories of Theodore and Violet, two teenagers coping with mental illness. In Violet's case, she is still mourning the death of her sister in a car accident. Theodore, on the other hand, is suffering from depression and suicidal tendencies. Together, they manage to learn more about themselves and each other and form a deep connection.
This is a heartbreakingly vivid story that was remarkably well written. The novel touches on important subject matters such as suicide, mental illness, physical/emotional abuse, and how we stigmatize those who hurt from the pain we can't see. These issues are things we all think about from time to time, and this novel provides an excellent way to start a crucial discussion. 5/5 stars!
**Please note that this novel contains heavily triggering content that might be unsuitable for younger teens. I would recommend it to mature teens that are at least 16-17 years old.

This book is heartbreakingly beautiful and sticks with me to this day.

Barrie_Teen_Lists Mar 22, 2021

Theodore Finch meets Violet Markey in the strangest way. Theodore, more commonly called Finch, suffers from periods of depression and bipolar disorder, and is intrigued with finding ways to die. He is called a freak at school, and is known for his history of crazy antics. On the other hand, Violet is struggling with the death of her sister, the result of a freak car accident that happened the night of a party that the two sisters attended. The two teenagers meet when both decide to climb the bell tower, planning to jump off. When Finch sees Violet, the seemingly popular girl at school, he talks her down. When they both return to school, everyone assumes that Violet was the one who saved Finch, and he allows everyone to believe that, wanting to spare Violet from the embarrassment.

t
tiffanymhoang
Mar 04, 2021

This book left me in tears by the end. Bittersweet and heart-wrenching, Theodore Finch and Violet Markey don’t make up your typical teen romance full of puppy love and joy. Theodore Finch was a teenage boy fascinated by death, while Violet Markey was a grieving girl looking for an escape in her future after graduation. Together, the two vastly different, yet similar characters felt an instant spark from the moment they were coincidentally paired together for a school project. They helped each other realize life’s true potential, and brought out the other’s true self. This seemingly simple story of a young boy and girl falling in love is much more than that, as the realness of the characters love, as well as pain, grow on you throughout the story. Jennifer Niven’s captivating writing puts you through a rollercoaster of emotions and captures each character’s inner struggles in great detail, bringing light to the importance of mental health.

s
Somanybooks11
Nov 22, 2020

This book proves that not everybody has a happy ending.

a
ashleyha0321
Sep 30, 2020

Jennifer Niven wrote a beautiful and torturous read with All the Bright Places. It’s not your typical teen romance with all happiness and fluff. The book is about Violet Markey and how she wrestles with grasping her sister’s death. We get to see the change in her view of the world after meeting Theodore Finch on top of a school bell tower and pairing up for a project, which leads to spontaneous adventures. I must warn that the book does delve into deeper themes of suicide and depression, so read what you’re comfortable with. What I really enjoyed was the main relationship between Violet and Finch, how they’re complete opposites, but find ways to make each other better. I also loved how the book talks about mental health in a way that other books are scared to explain.

b
BlueberryElf
Jul 27, 2020

Definitely one of my absolute favourite books! I couldn't stop thinking about it for weeks after I read it. Wonderfully written and so so beautiful. 100% recommend this book to anyone! (Especially if you like books that will make you cry, as well as think.) I love this book.

j
jazminefinuliar04
Jun 23, 2020

This novel written by Jennifer Niven revolves around two 12th graders from Indiana named Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, who both deal with the same problems of suicide. They meet when Violet attempts to jump off the town’s bell tower as a way to deal with the guilt of surviving a car crash instead of her sister, and Finch convinces her to get down. As they deal with the problems that they face, they get closer through their travels of their small town, and eventually fall in love. One thing I liked about All the Bright Places is the serious issues they touch upon, such as bipolar disorder and depression. This is due to the fact that mental illness within adolescents is stigmatized, as is avoided being talked about as much as possible. Overall, I highly recommend reading this book if you like to read about more serious topics in young adult novels, and I recommend watching the Netflix film based on the book if you would like to see how the characters’ emotions are portrayed in person.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
j
Juli246
Mar 14, 2021

“So come on. Let’s go. Let’s count for something. Let’s get off that ledge.”
-Jennifer Niven, All The Bright Places

j
Juli_246
Mar 14, 2021

“None of us knows how long we have, maybe another month, maybe another fifty years – I like living as if I only have that two days.”

j
Juli_246
Mar 14, 2021

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”
-Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

s
Somanybooks11
Nov 22, 2020

“And in that moment there’s nothing I fear except losing hold of her hand.”
― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

s
Somanybooks11
Nov 22, 2020

“No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring.”
― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

s
Somanybooks11
Nov 22, 2020

“Sometimes there’s beauty in the tough words—it’s all in how you read them.”
― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

s
Somanybooks11
Nov 22, 2020

“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”
― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

m
MamaDaisy
Nov 01, 2019

''He just found that other world'' --Violet Markey

n
night_shadow_8
May 15, 2019

"It's so lovely to be lovely to the one I love." - Theodore Finch

n
night_shadow_8
Mar 24, 2019

"Let me ask you something. Do you think there's such a thing as a perfect day?" - Theodore Finch

View All Quotes

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
j
jazminefinuliar04
Jun 23, 2020

jazminefinuliar04 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

e
elisabeth_23
Apr 14, 2020

elisabeth_23 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

ArapahoeKate Aug 06, 2019

ArapahoeKate thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

h
Helen101
Nov 29, 2018

Helen101 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

x
xjfx
Oct 13, 2018

xjfx thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

a
aihyuri
Oct 02, 2017

aihyuri thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

b
blue_owl_1134
Sep 24, 2017

blue_owl_1134 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 88 and 99

m
mangomingyu17
Nov 15, 2016

mangomingyu17 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

f
fallacyx2
Mar 01, 2016

fallacyx2 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

l
livieb17
Sep 26, 2015

livieb17 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary
g
Goodtimepoet
Jun 23, 2015

This book is about a boy names Finch and a girl names Violet.

Notices

Add Notices
AletaLindsey Mar 16, 2015

Other: Could be triggering- suicidal thoughts

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top