Alive

Alive

Book One of the Generations Trilogy

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
8
2
Rate this:
For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival. "I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid." A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers. She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they're to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another. Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there's a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.Praise for Alive "Suspenseful . . . [Alive] lives up to its hype, packing plenty of thrills."—Entertainment Weekly "Fascinating and intriguing . . . a cross between Lord of the Flies and The Maze Runner and yet . . . so much more."—Fresh Fiction"A ripping, claustrophobic thunderbolt of a novel, Scott Sigler's Alive gives us an unforgettable young hero who must find the inner strength to lead without knowing where she is, who she is, and how bitterly the odds are stacked against her."—Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising "Sigler has created a wonderful and engrossing character in M. Savage. Strong and smart, but with the nav̐et ̌and misgivings of any teenage girl, she's someone you'll definitely want on your side when s*** hits the fan, which it most certainly does."—Veronica Belmont, host of Sword & Laser "A tense, unsettling page-turner of a story—both deeply strange and wildly compelling."—Cherie Priest, author of Boneshaker and Maplecroft "From the first page I was hooked. The puzzle unfolds masterfully, right down to the last page."—Dr. Phil Plait, author of Bad AstronomyFrom the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780553393118
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLTamiT Jan 10, 2017

I enjoyed this dystopian sci-fi novel. It kept me wanting to read, even when I needed to put the book down. The characters could be frustrating at times, but those flaws allowed them a chance to grow. I'm sure I'll read the next one.

mvkramer Nov 04, 2016

This book is compulsively readable, in the way potato chips are compulsively eatable, but the characters are so annoying. Seriously, it's like every bad dystopian girl character stereotype was reincarnated in the form of M. Savage. Read something else!

b
Bakergirl_13
Feb 25, 2016

It was ok, interesting enough to place a hold on Alight, the second one, but not as good as a lot of others. To me it's hard to keep up with the story, like I still don't get how the monsters are the original people.

s
Shade42
Feb 14, 2016

Great book, but go in knowing nothing.

s
scifiandscary
Jan 12, 2016

Scott Sigler’s Alive is definitely a departure from the style I remember in Infected. Better? Maybe yes, Maybe no. Worse? Maybe yes, Maybe no. I think its safe to say that there are toe-rags, idiots, jiggly bits and bacon involved. Monsters, confusion, and gruesome sights abound.

Sigler is good. Just when you think you know exactly how everything is planned out, and are disappointed with what is going on, he throws a spanner into the works that has you gaping and… almost insulted that you weren’t expecting it. Oh, you’ll be right on some things, and so full of yourself for guessing them, but on the most important bits? Horribly wrong. At least I was.

e
epelto12
Oct 30, 2015

To begin, I have to honor what Scott Sigler asked of all reviewers of this book: To not spoil the surprises that I experienced so that new readers will have the same experience when reading "Alive."

Em wakes up in a coffin, in a room with several other people, all dressed alike. They don't know who they are, where they are, or why they are there. They must work together (or not) to find out what has happened to them. I found myself frustrated along with Em and her companions along every turn, needing to keep reading to figure out along with them all the answers to their questions. Several times I believed I knew where the story was going, but my guesses were always wrong in such a big way.

Without spoiling anything further, I want to recommend this book to you all. Though slow at times, it is worth the payoff when you finally reach the end and discover the truth about their strange circumstances. You will not guess the ending. Guaranteed.

Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of "Alive" in exchange for my honest opinion.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Jul 23, 2015

Overall, I enjoyed the book and will probably read the sequel. Not quite as good as the Hunger Games and Divergent series. Got a little too hokey towards the end for me.

a
aliciamarie
Jul 14, 2015

This book reminded me of "Lord of the Flies". A group of kids, trying to survive, going through power struggles, arguing over what to do next. That's pretty much the entire book. Just when I got tired of reading about power struggles and arguments and what they thought they should do next, the author throws in a horrific occurrence that sucked me back in and made me want to read more. Bravo for that. The plot is definitely interesting (at times) and one of a kind. But I wanted more details of the world described. I wanted less wandering around and more action. It just left me wanting more. It didn't fill me up, it was just barely enough to stop the hunger pangs. Then it seemed it all came to an abrupt end. It seemed to resolve very easily and very quickly. Resolve isn't the right word. There were more questions in my head. Way more.
That was the huge problem I had. I was left more questions than what the author offered up as answers. How did it happen? What happened after? These, to me, are major things a reader needs to know in a post-apocalyptic, dystopian book.
I have seen reviews that put down the writing style and called it choppy. It didn't read like that for me. It was easy to read, and flowed nicely. No major issues on descriptions of the scenery, character's looks or what was taking place.
This is the first book in a trilogy. I supposed all the unanswered questions were a terrific way to get readers to read the next book. I have this "need to know" mentality so I will definitely be reading the next books in the series. I have also seen several websites and reviewers compare this to Hunger Games or Divergent. Not even close. Not even on the same playing field.
After some thinking my rating is 4 stars. I have thought and thought about this book for a few hours now. Which means it impacted me more than I thought, and not in a bad way. Too many preconceived ideas of how it should have been. The author took his own approach and it worked. Though disappointed and full of questions at first, the ending left me wanting more and excited to read the next book hours after finishing. It just had to all sink in.
I received this as a digital copy for free to read and review for Netgalley and Random House Publishing Group- Del Rey Spectra.
The options are exclusively my own and I was not paid for them.

Notices

Add Notices

mvkramer Nov 04, 2016

Violence: Characters die by stabbing and memorably, by pig attack. They wander through the remains of an ancient and disturbing massacre.

b
Bakergirl_13
Feb 25, 2016

Sexual Content: Descriptions of girls private body parts attracting boys, and parts where girls are half naked in front of boys.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top