Radio Silence

Radio Silence

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
From critically acclaimed author Alice Oseman comes a smartly crafted contemporary YA novel, perfect for readers who love Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl. This is an utterly captivating and authentic new teen novel from the author of Solitaire, which VOYA said "could put her among the great young adult fiction authors."Frances Janvier spends most of her time studying. Everyone knows Aled Last as that quiet boy who gets straight As. You probably think that they are going to fall in love or something. Since he is a boy and she is a girl.They don't. They make a podcast. In a world determined to shut them up, knock them down, and set them on a cookie cutter life path, Frances and Aled struggle to find their voices over the course of one life-changing year. Will they have the courage to show everyone who they really are? Or will they be met with radio silence?
Publisher: 2017
ISBN: 9780062335739
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
lindsay_r Jun 13, 2017

An emotional rollercoaster about friendship, finding your path in life, and the turbulent world of online fandom


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 23, 2018

This book captivates the emotions that teenagers often feel as they enter their young adult life and must navigate the world for the first time on their own. False expectations and self doubt have led the main character Frances to feeling like she must be perfect, while also sacrificing the truth of who she really is. After being on a podcast where she was real and honest for the first time, it’s circulation backfires on her and she must answer to things that she never had the courage to before. This book forces you to confront your worst qualities as well as to be honest with yourself about who you are and who you want to be. I would rate this suspenseful and true to life story 4.5/5 stars and recommend it to those still struggling to discover their truth.
- @The_Reviewer of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

This book was a show of unity to the millennial experience.
Frances is a nerdy British-Ethiopian teen who is obsessed with a small podcast called Universe City. She's split between being her "school self" and real self. One self is at the top of the class, set on getting into Cambridge, and a workaholic... and the other self does Universe City fan art on Tumblr and has no true friends. But as she enjoys her podcast she meets a clever boy who isn’t who he seems. This book also had a unique aspect to it, that being its message to the reader that it's okay if they don't get into, or even want to go to, university. It doesn't hammer in that uni's worthless, more so that if you don't want to go, then you don't have to. I really enjoyed this book ;) Rating 4/5.
- @momo of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

lindsay_r Jun 13, 2017

An emotional rollercoaster about friendship, finding your path in life, and the turbulent world of online fandom

LPL_WilliamO Apr 14, 2017

Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park take note: current, diverse, and filled with quirky adorableness. An adorable story about friendship and being true to yourself. You won't want to put it down until you're done!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top