A Secret History of Witches

A Secret History of Witches

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters, and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman.
Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mère Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her.
Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew.
The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.
But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.
Publisher: New York : Redhook, 2017
ISBN: 9780316508551
Branch Call Number: MOR
Characteristics: 484 p. ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLAmandaW Dec 28, 2017

A sweeping historical fiction about the Orchiere line of women and the gift of witchcraft that passes from mother to daughter through the generations. Morgan explores how the gift is used by each woman and how the personalities of the women with the gift affect the way in which they use the power. Filled with rich historical detail and story lines focusing on the complex relationship between mother and daughter.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top