Things I'm Seeing Without You

Things I'm Seeing Without You

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Equal parts heartbreaking, funny, and life-affirming, this is a story about love after the most profound loss, for fans of Jesse Andrews, Rainbow Rowell, and Jennifer Niven.

"Required reading." --John Corey Whaley, winner of the Printz Award

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has dropped out of high school, tossed her laptop in a freezing lake, then jumped in after it fully clothed. Why? Because Jonah was the boy she knew only through texts and emails but understood to his very core. Jonah was the only boy she'd told she loved and the only boy to say it back. And Jonah was the boy whose suicide she never saw coming.

Jonah's death has sent Tess pinwheeling into grief and confusion. But even though he's gone, Tess still writes to him. She wants answers to the yawning chasm of questions that's become her life. At the same time, she's trying to find solace in her father's alternative funeral business. Who knew that arranging last rites for prized pets could be so life-affirming? But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought . . . especially after she receives a message that turns her already inside-out world totally upside down.

As funny as it is heartbreaking and completely unputdownable, Things I'm Seeing Without You shows us what it means to love someone, to lose someone, to wade through the beautiful/strange agony of the aftermath, and somehow love again.

"Sometimes hilarious, always affecting." -- VOYA
"Nails the messiness of grief." -- SLJ
"Compelling . . . a draw for fans of Nicola Yoon." -- BCCB
Publisher: New York : Dial Books, c2017
ISBN: 9780735228047
Branch Call Number: YA BOG
Characteristics: 330 p. ;,22 cm
Alternative Title: Things I am seeing without you

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
3
3je82rs9
Oct 14, 2017

Peter Bognanni has struck the perfect balance levity and serious subject matter in THINGS I'M SEEING WITHOUT YOU. It is equal parts entertaining and deeply moving, and I would highly recommend this book to fans of Adam Silvera and Krystal Sutherland.

As Tess Fowler is grieving the sudden and unexpected death of her boyfriend, she finds out that he isn't exactly who she always thought he was, and what she learns takes her on an unexpected journey toward figuring out the person she wants to become. Along the way, readers get to watch her not only coping with her own grief, but trying to help others cope with theirs as well.

Bognanni certainly pulls no punches in this novel, and there are definitely moments where the reader will truly feel Tess's grief alongside her. At the same time, there are these wonderful moments of laughter and levity throughout that really make the book a pleasure to read.

Tess is such a witty and original character. Bognanni has given her some truly wonderful, laugh-out-loud one liners, and those help diffuse some of the tension from the more serious and important topics discussed without glossing over them. Tess felt like a real person, not just a book character, and I really appreciated the life that Bognanni breathed into her.

Tess's journey through her grief takes her in some very unexpected directions. And while that did make the plot feel a little disjointed at times, I do feel like it also added a sense of realness to the story as well. It made the plot seem like an analogy for the way people don't just move through the grieving process linearly. We move in any direction we're able, trying to figure out who we are after our lives are touched by tragedy.

THINGS I'M SEEING WITHOUT YOU is heart-wrenching, funny, and deeply moving story. I can't wait to see more from this author in the future.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top