The Trials of Morrigan Crow

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
An instant New York Times bestseller!
"A Harry Potter-esque adventure." -- Time Magazine
A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination
Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.
But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.
Publisher: New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2017
Edition: 1st US ed
ISBN: 9780316508889
Branch Call Number: J TOW
Characteristics: 465 p. :,ill. ;,21 cm
Additional Contributors: Madsen, Jim 1964-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

AL_JESSICA Mar 23, 2018

Normally I'm skeptical when a book proclaims it's perfect for fans of Harry Potter, but in this case, I have to agree! Morrigan Crow's world is totally immersive and absolutely impossible to tear your eyes away from. I can't wait for the sequel- so many mysteries and adventures still await!

ontherideau Feb 14, 2018

Climb on board a gigantic mechanical spider and journey to a hotel where the head of housekeeping is a gigantic cat with eyes the size of a fist and gravity can be suspended, sort of like the internet going down.
This is a work of fantastic imagination. Lucky children who encounter such a story.

AL_TANYA Nov 17, 2017

This is probably the best book that I have read this year! A great read-a-like for Harry Potter fans. This book also has elements that remind me of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. I could not recommend this book more!

Mr_Cliff Nov 13, 2017

I really liked this one! It is the first in a potential series, and it includes magic, mystery, adventure, friendship, an eccentric mentor, and a wildly magical hotel where your room gets to know you over time and turns into your perfect room and a chandelier that grows and falls out and grows again like a tooth! Read it and find out if you might be a candidate for the Wundrous Society yourself some day.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Feb 12, 2018

gjrainey thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PMPL

To Top