You're Welcome, Universe

You're Welcome, Universe

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award!

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a "mainstream" school in the suburbs, where she's treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the 'burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off--and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia's graffiti tags, You're Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

"[A] spectacular debut...a moving, beautifully written contemporary novel full of quirky art and complicated friendships...this book is a gift to be thankful for."-- BookRiot
Publisher: New York : Alfred A Knopf, c2017
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780399551413
Branch Call Number: YA GAR
Characteristics: 297 p. :,ill. ;,22 cm
Alternative Title: You are welcome, universe


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Oct 25, 2017

Found the graffitti world mildy interesting. But wasn't enthralled with the story.

Jun 11, 2017

I loved every page of this book! Funny, relatable, real, unpredictable. Loved the characters and conflicts, loved the art, loved the solutions to describing visual language ASL; liked the realistic pace at which YP learns ASL; loved how Deaf culture was featured.

AL_PRINAL Apr 01, 2017

This book is exceptional. Gardner is a true master of creating smart, fully realized characters, and her empathy and wit make her books something really special. Not to mention the ART!! I love how the illustrations add so much to the overall story.
This diverse, intersectional story about friendship and trust made me remember what it was like to be a teenager, and Julia is the kind of bold, complicated, talented teen I would have loved to know when I was her age.
I cannot wait to see what's next for Whitney Gardner.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PMPL

To Top