The Widow

The Widow

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
52
1
1
Rate this:
THE NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train , an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...
 
But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore.
 
There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.
 
Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
 
The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything...
Publisher: New York : New American Library, c2016
ISBN: 9781101990261
Branch Call Number: BAR
Characteristics: 324 p. ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
susan_findlay
Sep 30, 2017

I really don't understand why this book is so highly rated. Admittedly, Barton creates interesting characters and her writing is quite easy to read (barring an annoying tendency to jump back and forth between first and third person narrators). But this is allegedly a mystery novel. There ought to be suspense. There ought to be twists and turns. Something ought to be thrilling or at least surprising. Nothing is. It's just a mundane walk through a rather horrible topic.*

I read this after reading her next offering, The Child. At least The Child had a plot twist, even if you could see it coming a mile away. The Widow had nothing. It's not a bad book, but there are so many better books out there that you'd be better off reading one of them.

*I read true crime. The fact that this was about the investigation of a missing toddler was not why I didn't get into this book.

CRRL_MegRaymond Sep 25, 2017

Now that her husband is dead, Jean no longer has to play supportive wife to a not-nice husband. But will she tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth?

k
kirpet
Sep 22, 2017

very suspenseful, well-written

s
Sara0113
Aug 24, 2017

Excellent book!!! Loved the story and twists it took, very well written. A little hard to keep track of where you are in the story because each chapter is a different character and date, but overall very good. Can't wait to read her next one.

w
winykittygirl
Jul 26, 2017

Excellent book!!!

JCLHeatherB Jul 05, 2017

Very predictable. Lacks the plot twists or surprises one expects from a good mystery or thriller. I was also unimpressed with the characterizations. No one seemed to have much of a personality, and I was surprised that the main character, The Widow, was only in her 30s. She seemed like she was about 60 years old. Maybe the very 1990s approach to technology contributed to that, too.

p
phyllis1948
Jun 20, 2017

This story could have been told in half the pages. The story went back and in forth in time and character focus but none of the characters were well-developed. In the end the outcome was exactly what I expected from the beginning.

p
Pulp_queen
Jun 08, 2017

I'm surprised I finished this book. No likeable characters, esp. the husband who has a thing for young (very young) children. No redemption at the end of the book either. Skip it.

w
wilqser
Mar 23, 2017

Three perspectives about the abduction of a little girl from her backyard as told by a journalist, the mother and a detective on the case. This book was not very suspenseful to me nor was it compelling. I would not recommend.

p
Pisinga
Mar 12, 2017

It immediately feels that the author has worked for many years as a journalist, wrote articles in newspapers, because in this book there are too many descriptions about the daily race of journalists, who are willing to do almost anything for a twist, no matter what.
The book is about of “suffering”, if you can say so, of child's abductor and of his wife. Absolutely not interesting and written as a chain of dialogues, interrogations and phone calls.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

n
noticemeplsoppa
Jan 03, 2017

noticemeplsoppa thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

siammarino May 12, 2016

Jean is brainwashed by her husband to keep quiet about his child pornography, but when he dies after abducting and killing a toddler named Bella, she breaks free of his grip. Exciting to the last page. A good psychological thriller.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top