Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
Celebrated as one of Canada's best storytellers, multi-award-winning author Guy Vanderhaeghe follows his bestselling epic frontier trilogy with a virtuoso collection of stories that brilliantly holds a mirror up to our contemporary lives. For readers of Alice Munro, Alistair MacLeod, Annie Proulx and her story "Brokeback Mountain." Set in western Canada, in both urban and rural locations, these nine stories are both timely and timeless and showcase Vanderhaeghe's supreme talent as a storyteller and poignant observer of the human condition. His wit and insights are razor sharp. When a teenage boy breaks out of the strict confines of his family, his bid for independence leads him in over his head. He learns about life in short order and there is no turning back. An actor's penchant for hiding behind a role, on and off stage, is tested to the limits and his discovery finally places him to face to face with the truth. With his mother hospitalized for a nervous...
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780771099151

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

Finalist: Governor General's Award


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
baldand
Dec 07, 2016

These are beautiful stories, that show Vanderhaeghe’s remarkable range, sometimes using an omniscient third person narrator, sometimes telling a story in the first person, and each first person narrator having his own distinctive voice. (None of the stories are told by women.) One of the best stories, Chevy Bel Air, tells how teenage heartbreak leads a 16-year old boy to flee his Saskatchewan farm and find a job in the Alberta oil patch. Vanderhaeghe isn’t a political writer, but in this story he chronicles one individual in what was a big population movement from Saskatchewan to Alberta. While there are big emotions playing out in the foreground of his story, one can also see the big demographic movement that is its background. The title story “Daddy Lenin”, is not as its title suggests, about Communism. Daddy Lenin is the nickname of the history professor who started off as the narrator’s thesis advisor. Although not a long story, most people will find a sense of recognition in it. Who hasn’t wondered at one point or another if an acquaintance’s interest in a controversial subject might not reflect an unadmitted prejudice, like Daddy Lenin’s interest in French Anti-Semitic writers? More personally, who hasn’t wondered if a former mentor has not in some way spoiled their career and made it much less than it might have been? Vanderhaeghe should just keep on writing as he does. No-one should give him any advice, as what he writes is marvellous.

u
uncommonreader
Oct 20, 2016

Nine stories, mostly set on the Prairies, mostly good.

m
mclarjh
Apr 23, 2016

Very good writing, although I found the title short story the weakest.

p
Pasdeproblem
Mar 19, 2016

Excellent writing; short stories that read like the kind of plot-oblivious novels I like; precise depiction of Canadian prairie small towns in midcentury.

BPLpicks Nov 07, 2015

Winner of the Governor General's Award for Fiction and very well reviewed among readers. If you like short stories this should be on your library holds list.

s
santiano9
Jul 18, 2015

With the exception of Koenig and Company, I found these short stories unsatisfying. Not 'tight' enough, somehow and the endings did not bring the end to the circle.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
PMPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top