Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-orthodox Girlhood

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted , an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox Judaism. As the daughter of an influential rabbi, Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things: God and the men who ruled their world. But the tradition-bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when, at sixteen, she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend, a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex. Leah's parents were unforgiving. Afraid, in part, that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children, they put her on a plane and cut off ties. Cast out in New York City, without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community, Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life. She spent the next few years using her sexuality as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child, while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past. Fast-paced, mesmerizing, and brutally honest, Cut Me Loos e tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual. Through Leah's eyes, we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism, but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity.
Publisher: New York : Nan A. Talese/Doubleday, c2014
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780385538091
Branch Call Number: 921 VIN
Characteristics: viii, 228 p. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ruby618 Jun 09, 2015

this story is hard to believe
the main character becomes a prostitute because she is bored of working in an office....weird

s
sarahblock
Mar 24, 2015

A very good read. It's sad that she had to go through what she did in order to get out, but she made it. Good for her.

sirmichael38 Nov 18, 2014

This book was insightful, interesting, inspiring, sad, and happy all rolled into one. It is all about one girl's struggles to live her life in spite of one hurdle after another.

The author never says that her experiences are common in the Jewish religion. It is nothing more that one girl's story.

Perhaps if Ms. Vincent had lied and made her memoir sound like a fairy tale, Sabah would not have been put on the defensive. It's a simple shame that some people can't appreciate eye-opening literature

WONDERFUL BOOK!

Vincent T Lombardo Nov 17, 2014

Fascinating, moving, disturbing, shocking, courageous, and uplifting. I could not put this book down!

bmjas Oct 31, 2014

Emotionally upsetting yet so fascinating this book got to me. It shows clearly what religion - any religion- can do if followed to the extreme. Good on Leah to find her way out of self destruction. An inspiring read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top