Black Moon

Black Moon

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Dog Stars , Black Moon is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls "Gripping and expertly constructed."

Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows.  Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world.  Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her.

He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness.  Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend.  All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can't buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had.

Kenneth Calhoun has written a brilliantly realized and utterly riveting depiction of a world gripped by madness, one that is vivid, strange, and profoundly moving.
Publisher: London : Hogarth, c2014
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780804137140
Branch Call Number: SF CAL
Characteristics: 277 p. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
Persnickety77
Nov 17, 2014

Great premise and build up, but the ending was lacking in my opinion. It probably would have been better if the author has added another 100 pages, because it felt a little rushed.

m
moviefan01
May 22, 2014

Oh good. Another post-apocalyptic novel. The twist here? Some huge percentage of the world's population has insomnia...and the world falls apart. By novel's end, Black Moon started feeling too much like Stephen King's Cell, although it's somewhat recommended if you enjoyed David Oppegaard's Suicide Collectors.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top