The Illusionists

The Illusionists

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
London, 1885, a challenging place for a young, beautiful woman of limited means. But Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling, if respectable, conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist's model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil Wi, a born showman whose dream is to run his own theatre company. Devil's right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf who is a gifted magician and illusionist. Carlo and Devil clash at every turn and it falls to Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button: mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist which makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew. With self-styled impresario Devil at the helm of the Palmyra Theatre, acrobats and illusionists astonish audiences with their death-defying stunts and the magic of mysterious new inventions, like electricity. Backstage, secret romances, box-office dramas, and power struggles inevitably simmer, and intermittently boil over.
Publisher: Toronto : HarperCollinsPublishersLtd, c2014
Edition: 1st Canadian ed
ISBN: 9781443436243
Branch Call Number: THO
Characteristics: 472 p. ;,23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

a
aliciamarie
Jul 15, 2014

I really wanted to love this book. Liking it is a stretch. I found it hard to get into the characters which made it harder to get into the story.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top