A Garden of Marvels

A Garden of Marvels

How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, c2014
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780062048998
Branch Call Number: 580 .92 KAS
Characteristics: xviii, 395 p. :,ill. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

As gardening season starts in earnest, learn how we learned about plants.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

NYPLRecommends Sep 04, 2014

NYPL Staff Pick
Everyone likes a book about sex. Kassinger gives us a scientific look at the subject and how it involves plants, as well as plant anatomy, and generally how plants grow in layman's terms. It is an interweaving of history, science and gardening that will have you buying more houseplants.
- Jessica Cline, Mid-Manhattan Library

lshapir2 Apr 23, 2014

Good read, lots of interesting facts and anecdotes that made me appreciate my own garden and gardening efforts a bit better. She does tend to get somewhat technical in places (when explaining scientific processes involved in photosynthesis for example) and she throws a lot of historical names out when going into the early history of botany, and I found I kept having to flip back pages and remind myself who did what and why it was important. Overall, I enjoyed it and would recommend to any gardener or anyone interested in learning more about our relationship with the plant life all around us.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

lshapir2 Apr 23, 2014

lshapir2 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top