Siege and Storm

Siege and Storm

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
14
7
2
 …
Rate this:
Hunted across the True Sea and haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret.
Publisher: New York : Henry Holt and Company, c2013
ISBN: 9781250044433
9780805094602
Branch Call Number: YA BAR
Characteristics: 435 p. :,map ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
heavenne
Sep 11, 2017

***Spoilers ahead, you have been warned***

You’d have to read Shadow and Bone to read and understand Siege and Storm. Otherwise you’d be pretty lost as events follow up right after the first book.

The first half of the book was at a great pace and filled with lots of action, bombs, explosions, fighting, magic, all sorts of goodness you would expect for the second book to follow up for an excellent start in the first. It slows down in the second half of the book where preparations for encountering The Darkling are made and you have this whole drama with Alina and Mal going on;

I saw the chemistry with Alina and Mal in the first one, and it just falls apart here in Siege and Storm - understandably so as the dynamics have changed a lot and Alina has climbed up in the ladder of importance and Mal has suddenly fallen off the grid and is just considered a lowly guard of Alina the Sun Summoner. Which is pretty good right? You’re near the person you love and care about, you’re standing guard and you’re close by.

No. Can’t be that easy right? First Nikolai steps into the picture and is suddenly looking like a much better prospect and the drama with Alina looking for the Firebird to amplify her powers even more - the point where she becomes obsessed with it changes her personality and makes her more darker, assertive, and she’s not the girl we all once knew in the first book. I really love this personality change in her. There’s a slight whiny voice to it but she really steps up and grows exponentially as a character.

So I can see the romance aspect of the book falling apart, but at the same time you ask yourself is it really necessary? I can see the attempt at a love triangle with Mal and Nikolai with Alina in the middle but from what I see, she gets along fine with both of them, but does she really need one or the other as a love interest? I don’t see the chemistry there with either of them.

Sure, Alina still cares a lot for Mal but everything’s changed and it just seems like she doesn’t need romance..not yet anyway. Instead, the attempt at the romance is seen as two whiny people who can’t get their own way and they take it out on each other by indulging themselves on the road to self destruction. Again, that’s a very human trait and good on portraying that. The whininess though, I could do without. It caused unnecessary drama in the book, and endless of pages in the second half where the plot doesn’t seem to be moving forward or anywhere. It feels like an unnecessary filler.

The last third of the novel though did pick up the pace (did not make up for the whiny drama though) and provided a lot of the explosions and action you had in the first half. Not really featuring a cliffhanger ending, but it’s making me look forward to what I have to see in the third and final book of this series.

PS: My heart bled for Genya.

a
ApollosRaven
Sep 01, 2017

Fans of "Shadow and Bone" will certainly want to read this title, the second in the series. Alina's secret life as the Sun Summoner becomes public, while her determination to fight the Darkling forces her to make increasingly difficult decisions. Readers may share some of Alina's frustrations with the political in-fighting, but the ending is action-packed, pulling the many character and story threads together. The final volume is out, and most readers will want to continue following Alina's and Mal's adventures.

m
mightyminnie
Mar 30, 2017

Not as good as the first book but still a good read. just slower paced.

k
ksully1
Jan 07, 2017

The first book created a lot of possibility in world and myth building, and I was looking forward to the sequel. Unfortunatly, this book has the feeling of a story stretched to three novels for the purpose of selling more books. Chapters and chapters were spent with the characters wandering around, unsure of their next moves, until the final few chapters. All of the truly relevant plot points could have been included in either of the stories bookending this series. After reading it, I thought about giving up the series altogether, but I enjoyed the first book enough that I found myself thinking about the characters after I was finished. So I'll move on to the third and hope the author finds her feet again and can finish this promising tale with a deserving ending.

MelifluousView Oct 07, 2016

Siege and Storm is the middle of a trilogy. Good action, the characters grow and struggle, and the end makes you want to run back to the library for the 3rd book right away.

forbesrachel Sep 01, 2014

Alina and Mal only wish for freedom. After a short respite we are plunged right back into the action, with them once again getting captured and escaping. Having discovered that Ravka is on the verge of collapse, both guilt and responsibility call Alina back to try and stop the Darkling. It is only with new powers and allies that she will have any chance of winning. As Alina changes, she struggles with thoughts of whether this is a good thing or not. Is she becoming a selfless saint, or descending into greedy darkness like the Darkling? She wants neither to happen, but she may have no choice. By gaining power, both in terms of command and through obtaining new amplifiers, she starts to feel isolated. Not even Mal's love for her can counteract this, and with Prince Nikolai there to complicate matters, a wedge forms between them. While there is not much else to the plot other than escaping and planning, the interactions between characters and Alina's internal struggles are more than enough to retain our interest. The author leaves us off at a tantalizing point, hoping that all this destruction will lead to rebirth.

i
ivych99
Aug 22, 2014

Maybe it wasn't as exciting as the first book, but I still love it and can't wait to read the final book in the trilogys. :D

s
sbryant124
Jul 12, 2014

Alina is stupid and whiny. Mal is irritating and Nikolai tries just a bit too hard with the witty repartee.

f
fluffyunicorns
Jun 04, 2014

Alina was kind of a dumb heroine…

KateHillier May 23, 2014

This sequel allows Alina and Mal barely a chapter or two of freedom before they are in the thick of it again. One side the Darkling and the Grisha want her for their own ends, on the other a new character wants her to help rule the land justly and fairly in an attempt to overthrow the current heir, and then there's the cult of people who have come to see Alina as a saint and saviour or their land and way of life. Alina has barely found her feet with her power when she's thrust into politics of all kinds. Meanwhile Mal, who has always been a solider, is suffering in his current role as well is role in Alina's life. The two of them seem as destined for ruin as the land is. There's new characters abound here as well as new perspectives while at the same time you are still very much in the point of view of a girl who has power and importance for the first time in her life and she is trying to reconcile her need for that with whatever is left of the girl she once was, the girl that Mal fell in love with. Fans of the first book will not be disappointed and I am eager to see what is waiting for us this summer with the finale!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

whitefalcon17 Sep 03, 2014

“The less you say, the more weight your words will carry.”

“Weakness is a guise. Wear it when they need to know you're human, but never when you feel it.”

“The ox feels the yoke, but does the bird feel the weight of its wings?”

“So many men had tried to make her a queen. Now she understood that she was meant for something more. The Darkling had told her he was destined to rule. He had claimed his throne, and a part of her too. He was welcome to it. For the living and the dead, she would make herself a reckoning. She would rise.”

Nessa14 Jan 14, 2014

"No, Alina. You came here Ravka. For the Firebird. To lead the Second Army." He tapped the sun overhis heart. "I came here for you. You're my flag. You're my nation. But that doesn't seem to matter anymore." - Mal

Nessa14 Jan 13, 2014

"My mother was an oyster," he said with a wink. "And I'm the pearl." - Sturmhond

Nessa14 Jan 12, 2014

"I'm a prince," said Nikolai. "Being useful isn't part of the job description."

Nessa14 Jan 12, 2014

"Watch yourself, Nikolai," Mal said softly. "Princes bleed just like other men."

Nikolai plucked an invisible piece of dust from his sleeve.

"Yes, he said. "They just do it in better clothes."

Nessa14 Jan 12, 2014

"Nikolai," he corrected. "But I've also been known to answer to 'sweetheart' or 'handsome.' " - Nikolai Lantsov

Nessa14 Jan 12, 2014

"Then you and I will have something in common, won't we? Besides, I like to have powerful enemies. Makes me feel important." - Sturmhond

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

whitefalcon17 Sep 03, 2014

whitefalcon17 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

r
rima_gabrielle
Jul 23, 2013

rima_gabrielle thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

whitefalcon17 Sep 03, 2014

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her--or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top