The Burning Sky

The Burning Sky

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
8
6
1
Rate this:

Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in this extraordinary novel--the first in the Elemental Trilogy--for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore. Publishers Weekly called it "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review, and Kirkus Reviews said it "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation--or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission--and her life.

Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2013
ISBN: 9780062207296
Branch Call Number: YA THO
Characteristics: 449 p. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Quotes

Add a Quote

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“'Love will make you weak and indecisive, remember?' she murmured.
What a fool he had been. For a journey like theirs, love was the only thing that would make him strong enough.
'Don't ever listen to an idiot like me,' he answered.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“Friendship is untenable for people in our position.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“You overestimate the courage of those in power. They are often more interested in holding on to that power than in doing anything worthwhile with it.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“You are asking me to give up everything for a cause that isn't mine. I don't want to be part of any revolution. I just want to live.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“The success of my rule does not rely on my ability to recite obscure Latin verse.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“Dreams are not real; but when you are inside a dream, it is real to you.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“As long as I live and breathe, I will be with you.”

n
neocarleen
Dec 18, 2013

“You can live forever for me.”

Comment

Add a Comment

b
blue_deer_398
Feb 19, 2017

Not as good as the second book but equally lovely

m
MicaelaMuldoon
Jan 15, 2016

I picked this up for three reasons:
1) the gorgeous cover
2) the Avatar: The Last Airbender-like premise
3) the rave reviews from well-known authors

I really had every reason to have high hopes for this book. Alas, everyone is bound to find a flop masked by great advertising. What a sucker I am.

I didn’t finish this book. Reading it felt like running on a treadmill and expecting to go somewhere. I got over 200 pages in, and I was still waiting for something to happen when I called it quits. I mean, some cool elemental magic stuff happened at the beginning, but it was pretty low-key (which is fine, even encouraged for a beginning). The problem was that it was all downhill from there.

Iolanthe and Titus just spend too many pages doing old-timey schoolboy activities to keep under the enemy’s radar. That might be fun and might work in some books, but it didn’t in this one.

Also, the romance in the book was supposed to be swoony, but it just pissed me off. The old I-hate-you-but-I’m-intensely-attracted-to-you cliche. I’m not inherently against romantic cliches, as long as they are well-executed. This wasn’t, and I’m not sure if it’s because of the clumsy writing (some of the most clunking, least graceful writing I’ve ever read) or because they didn’t start off hating each other and that beginning was also awkward. At first, Titus saved Iolanthe, and so she trusted him. From POV to POV, they kept admiring every aspect of each other, from looks to the smallest actions. It was so mutual and similar that they didn’t even seem like distinct people when they thought of each other.

On the bright side, they have different personalities when they speak directly. However, they are both such clever, flawless people that the different voices and principles do not make up for it. It’s irritating to see them waltz so easily through everything they do. Very little plot, very little character development.

Maybe if I had read further, the story would have gotten better, but judging from what I skimmed, it doesn’t seem like it. I’m sorry, but life is just too short for me to read another 200-something pages.

n
nidofito
Dec 16, 2015

The Burning Sky is your typical YA fantasy story.

We've got our hero: a gorgeous prince (of course) who has a ton of worries and the only way to reach his happily-ever-after is with the help of a commoner heroine (of course). Now, don't be fooled because this ordinary girl is not so ordinary. She is not only gorgeous, but she is a super-duper powerful mage, extremely athletic and witty.

The plot is both somewhat confusing and periodically entertaining, but it's too much! Too many words, too many coincidences, too many conveniences.

And honestly, all of it turned a story that was exactly what i needed into something I couldn't wait to finish.

m
marthabwaters
Feb 15, 2015

This book is a perfect illustration of the fact that familiar fantasy tropes can still feel fresh, new, and exciting in the hands of the right author. It's the story of Iolanthe Seabourne, an elemental mage with a great destiny who, under the guidance of Prince Titus, disguises herself as a boy and enrolls at Eton in the 1880s to escape the notice of evil powers at work in the alternative magical realm from whence they hail. A lot of this book feels familiar--it's Harry Potter meets Diana Wynne Jones meets romance novels meets Brit boarding school books meets a dozen other things--and yet that doesn't stop it from being totally entertaining. The two main characters are well-drawn and memorable, their developing relationship is handled really well, and the book is just a really fun read. (And the first in a trilogy, even better!)

Chapel_Hill_RuthL Feb 15, 2015

When Iolanthe Seabourne calls a lightening bolt from the sky she’s not expecting to attract the attention of Prince Titus or Inquisitor of the Realm. She’s not expecting to have to abandon her home, or run for life, or hide in plain sight in as a boy of Eton College but that’s just what happens. Creating a vivid world and incredible characters, Sherry Thomas’s The Burning Sky is a superb blend of fantasy, adventure, romance and 19th century London. The first in the Elemental Trilogy, fans of Graceling and Katsa will find Iolanthe a worthy heroine and her adventure one they can’t wait to take again.

The realm that this story created merges many fantasy plot lines with the complex bonds in political societies. It'll be a great read.

Summary

Add a Summary

Iolanthe's normal life as a mage is interrupted when Atlantis seeks to capture her. Who would someone want a mage who could only control fire, water, and earth? Nobody. Ostensibly that was her elemental mage leve, but underneath the deceptive identity her adopted father wove for her protection is a destiny that Iolanthe can't hope to escape. When she encounters Prince Titus....well a boy with such a destiny certainly changes the outlook of things. Together the powerful pair work for the downfall of the Bane, a notorious head mage over looking Atlantis, in the hopes of a better future for their kingdom.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top