Patient Number 7

Patient Number 7

A Novel

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader .

This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.


From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, c2012
ISBN: 9780771071300
0771071302
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Alternative Title: Patient Number seven

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jeanie123
Jun 27, 2017

This book is a very interesting and unique treatment on the time leading up to and following the Second World War told through the experiences and deep, critical thinking of a young Austrian woman. However, I found the writing slightly awkward in many places, as if I were reading an inelegant translation perhaps. The first half of the book moves very slowly, and I almost gave up, but I was pulled along by the story enough to keep going.

t
trudat
Jan 16, 2017

Although the writing didn't grip me as much as The Piano Maker, this is a story that needed to be told - and is all the more relevant in these uncertain political times. A fascinating perspective from a young, idealistic, feminist Austrian student about how benign and progressive Nazi ideas may have seemed at first... and then how quickly society can devolve in the wrong hands.

2
21221018293347
Oct 28, 2016

Very good book. Well written. Strong female lead. This is a different look at WWII, told from the point of view of Clara, the wife of a German tank commander who fits with Rommel. Clara, her mother-in-law and a handful of her close friends remain behind in Austria, aiding POWs and surviving the personal jealousies of a local SS agent; all while raising two young daughters.

The book was originally released under the title "Clara", why it was changed to Patient No. 7 is beyond me. The current title is very misleading.

A very well written, interesting book. I highly recommend it.

e
Eil_1
Aug 23, 2016

A powerful book. The author has a no-holds-barred about the rise to power of the Nazis during the 30's and early 40's, and the horror of WWII. How easy it was for the Nazi party to win over the Germans by telling the people what they wanted to hear. Clara is a strong heroine and the strong love between her and Andrew is touching. Would recommend it to those who are interested in history. The Piano Maker by Palka is also an excellent read.

g
genepy
Aug 03, 2014

This novel is based on real events: the main characters are the witnesses and the victims of the rise of Nazism in Austria . Kurt Palka wrote it from stories and notes he discovered in a folder which had miraculously survived all the fires and bombing Austria endured during WWII. The main character is a bright,sensitive, fiercely independent and resilient woman who conquers your heart and touch your soul.

d
d_morneau1
May 28, 2012

I loved this book! The story is beautifully written, and it's especially moving knowing that incidents in this book actually happened to people. I found it extremely interesting reading about the onset and development of WWII from a civilian's perspective, since there are so many novels and stories written from perspectives of people in the ghettos and camps. This was a fantastic read, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top