Penny and Her Marble

Penny and Her Marble

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Publisher: New York : Greenwillow Books, c2013
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780062082039
Branch Call Number: ER HEN
Characteristics: 48 p. :,col. ill. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

_
_Alicorn_
Jul 05, 2017

Our nearly 5 year old loved this book and it was repeat request read.
The lesson isn't immediate but clear and gives the reader a chance to think how they would handle it themselves. It is an engaging book and suits a good age range for both reading out loud and self reading.

i
IrishMoon
Apr 07, 2014

Excellent! My 6 year old granddaughter asked me to read it to her again.

m
msornson
Mar 14, 2013

I need 4 copies of Penny and her Marble. Is there anyway I can get a "hold" for 4 books?

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

i
IrishMoon
Apr 07, 2014

IrishMoon thinks this title is suitable for 4 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top