P.S. Be Eleven

P.S. Be Eleven

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and find that changes large and small have come to their home. This extraordinary novel earned five starred reviews, with Publishers Weekly calling it "historical fiction that's as full of heart as it is of heartbreak" and The Horn Book considering it "funny, wise, poignant, and thought-provoking."

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. The sisters aren't the only ones who have changed. Now Pa has a girlfriend. Uncle Darnell returns from Vietnam a different man. But Big Ma still expects Delphine to keep her sisters in line. That's much harder now that Vonetta and Fern refuse to be bossed around. Besides her sisters, Delphine's got plenty of other things to worry about--like starting sixth grade, being the tallest girl in her class, and dreading the upcoming school dance. The one person she confides in is her mother, Cecile. Through letters, Delphine pours her heart out and receives some constant advice: to be eleven while she can.

This extraordinary novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Publisher: New York :, Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2013], ♭2013
ISBN: 9780061938627
Branch Call Number: J WIL
Characteristics: 274 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

i
Incarnadine
Sep 22, 2015

The sequel to the amazing One Crazy Summer (which won a Newberry award), P.S. Be Eleven continues the engaging adventures of the Gaither sisters. Such a good book (even if the first one is my favorite)! Looking so much forward to reading the next book about these characters!

JCLBrownM Jun 12, 2013

In this sequel to One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sister are back in Brooklyn with their father and grandmother after spending the summer with their poet-mother who was involved with The Black Panthers. I didn't find this story nearly as compelling as the first, but Williams-Garcia does a great job of revealing the race, gender and political issues of the late 1960's in this historical novel.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top