P.S. Be Eleven

P.S. Be Eleven

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

The Gaither sisters are at it again! A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn't sit well with Big Ma, who doesn't like the way things are changing.

Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he's not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn't the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell--it's Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia.

But the one thing that doesn't change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

Publisher: New York :, Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2013], ♭2013
ISBN: 9780061938627
Branch Call Number: J WIL
Characteristics: 274 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

i
Incarnadine
Sep 22, 2015

The sequel to the amazing One Crazy Summer (which won a Newberry award), P.S. Be Eleven continues the engaging adventures of the Gaither sisters. Such a good book (even if the first one is my favorite)! Looking so much forward to reading the next book about these characters!

JCLBrownM Jun 12, 2013

In this sequel to One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sister are back in Brooklyn with their father and grandmother after spending the summer with their poet-mother who was involved with The Black Panthers. I didn't find this story nearly as compelling as the first, but Williams-Garcia does a great job of revealing the race, gender and political issues of the late 1960's in this historical novel.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top