Studio Saint-Ex

Studio Saint-Ex

A Novel

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
In the Glittering world of Manhattan's French expats and 1942 Quebec, a twenty-two-year-old fashion designer on the cusp of launching her career is swept away by the charms of French writer and war pilot Antoine de Saint-Exup#65533;ry ... and enmeshed in the schemes of his beautiful, estranged Salvadoran wife, who is determined to win back her husband--at all costs and seductions.

With Paris under occupation by Hitler's troops, New York's Mayor LaGuardia vows to turn his city into the new fashion capital of the world--and Mig Lachapelle leaves Montreal for New York to make her name. She finds herself pulled into a fiery romantic triangle in which ambitions, creativity, and passions catch a literary giant between two talented, mesmerizing women and imperil the fate of his work-in-progress, The Little Prince--a poignant tale of a young boy's loneliness and love among the stars, one of the best selling and most beloved novels of all time.

For fans of The Paris Wife, Loving Frank, and Rules of Civility, Ania Szado's Studio Saint-Ex explores themes of ambition, devotion, and inspiration in deft, sophisticated prose.

Publisher: Toronto : Viking, c2013
ISBN: 9780670066957
Branch Call Number: SZA
Characteristics: 349 p. ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Diell Sep 10, 2013

Neat idea, but could've been better, I like the way she built and fit in the characters, but felt I couldn't really commit to them. I confess I read his wife's book first, naturally she was more sympathetic to both herself and Saint-du Expury, well so was I in the end. Szado's book is fiction and maybe his wife's is too to a degree that bios can be, memory can warp and how honest are any of us about ourselves or to ourselves. Now I'd like to read the book written by his mistress if I can find it, apparently his wife doesn't have much of a part. Maybe I'll have a little more rounded out version of who the author of the Little Prince was. Interesting man/boy, interesting story.

j
jerksister1
Jul 16, 2013

I really wanted to like this book because it sounded like it should be so interesting, but I found the characters lacked any depth, and some I just found just ridiculous caricatures (eg. the wife). Too bad. I finished it but felt it was a waste of my time.

l
Lauren31
Mar 09, 2013

The story pulls you in with wonderful, infuriating characters. Consuelo, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's wife is a fascinating, infuriating character you will love to hate. The details that go into describing fashion designs of Mignonne LaChapelle are really lovely, and I would love to see an edition of this novel perhaps with sketches of her creations. All in all, this is a great, heartbreaking love story set against the drama of WWII.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top