The Malice of Fortune

The Malice of Fortune

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
A sweeping, intense historical thriller starring two of the great minds of Renaissance Italy: Niccol#65533; Machiavelli and Leonardo da Vinci. Based on a real historical mystery, and involving serial murder and a gruesome cat and mouse game at the highest levels of the Church -- it was the era of the infamous Borgias -- The Malice of Fortune is a delicious treat for fans of Umberto Eco, Sarah Dunant, and Elizabeth Kostova.

This brilliant novel is an epic tale exploring the backdrop of the most controversial work of the Italian Renaissance, The Prince . Here, Niccol#65533; Machiavelli, the great "scientist" of human behaviour becomes, in effect, the first criminal profiler, while his contemporary and sometime colleague, the erratic genius Leonardo da Vinci, brings his observational powers to the increasingly desperate hunt for a brilliant, terrifying serial murderer. Their foil and partner is the exquisite Damiata, scholar and courtesan. All three know their quarry is someone who holds enormous power, both to tear Italy apart, and destroy each of their most beloved dreams. And every thrilling step is based on historical fact.
Publisher: Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, c2012
ISBN: 9780771030758
Branch Call Number: ENN
Characteristics: xv, 396 p. :,map ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
salgeogal
May 17, 2016

7 out of 10. I enjoyed it, but bits were pretty far fetched

a
ApollosRaven
Aug 27, 2014

Michael Ennis portrays Machiavelli as attempting to use his knowledge of human nature to profile a serial murderer; while Da Vinci is pioneering forensic science. Fun, if far-fetched.

hania4987 Jul 01, 2013

multi-layered story which transcends the crime fiction / mystery genres.

t
tocch101
May 29, 2013

An interesting read that makes the characters you've always heard about in history class really come alive. The overall story line is complicated and not completely explained, but it is history.

ChristchurchLib Mar 11, 2013

March 2013 Thrillers and Suspense newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=609367

naeschbach Oct 18, 2012

a little too precious...and scattered.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top