The Fool's Tale

The Fool's Tale

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Wales, 1198. A time of treachery, passion, and uncertainty. King Maelgwyn ap Cadwallon, known as Noble, struggles to protect his small kingdom from foes outside and inside his borders. Pressured into a marriage of political convenience, he takes as his bride the young, headstrong Isabel Mortimer, niece of his powerful English nemesis. Through strength of character, Isabel wins her husband's grudging respect, but finds the Welsh court backward and barbaric, and is soon engaged in a battle of wills against Gwirion, the king's oldest, oddest, and most trusted friend. Before long, however, Gwirion and Isabel's mutual animosity is abruptly transformed, and the king finds himself as threatened by loved ones as by the enemies who menace his crown.
Publisher: Pymble, NSW ; New York, NY : HarperCollins e-books, 2007
ISBN: 9780061549311
0061549312
9780061549335
0061549339
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
ClarissaStanley
Jun 12, 2016

Bad read, her writing is pretty low level and unengaging. The plot is lame, the characters not likeable or believable in many ways, and esp for the period. The sexual stuff not entertaining just off putting, like a silly adolescent came up with.

a
artemishi
Apr 22, 2015

The Fool's Tale is not your usual medieval fiction. It's utterly compelling, with three main characters who are each lovable and hateful in equal measure (I love me some fallible characters). It makes for an excellent history lesson in terms of the relationship between Wales and England during the reign of Richard the Lionhearted (something I knew nothing about, previously). It's also an excellent story of human nature, obligation and power.

There's romance, but it's also not your typical setup. And nobody is made into a villain (and everybody is), and nobody is the hero (and everybody is). It's complex but not complicated, and although the first half was a bit slow and frustrating because I didn't like any of the three very much, by the middle of the book it took off. By the end, I was gasping and flipping pages like a fiend, skipping sleep and totally emotionally overwrought.

So, of course, I highly recommend it for fans of historical fiction, especially medieval. Also for fans of complex, three-dimensional characters with grey morality who are so real you feel like you could touch them. Also for fans of England, and Wales. And classic lit/myth (like Beowulf, Tristan & Isolde, Der Ring des Nibelungen, Arthurian legend, etc).

r
ranjanthana
Feb 15, 2012

Loved this book. Had a grat romance subplot. Highly recommend it

j
jbeckber
Aug 15, 2008

Loved this book. The Welsh names are hard to handle and I kept consulting the listing of pronunciations. But once I decided to just gloss over them and finally get who was who tentatively right, the story was excellent. I did not predict the ending at all.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top