The Chris Farley Show

The Chris Farley Show

A Biography in Three Acts

eBook - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
3
The New York Times bestselling biography of an American comedy legend After three years of sobriety, Chris Farley's life was at its creative peak until a string of professional disappointments chased him back to drugs and alcohol. He fought hard against them, but it was a fight he would lose in December 1997. Farley's fans immediately drew parallels between his death and that of his idol, John Belushi. Without looking deeper, however, many failed to see that Farley was much more than just another Hollywood drug overdose. In this officially authorized oral history, Farley's friends and family remember his work and life. Along the way, they tell a remarkable story of boundless energy, determination, and laughter that could only keep the demons at bay for so long.
Publisher: 2008
ISBN: 9781440636035
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
LPL_KimberlyL Oct 08, 2015

A laugh-out-loud biography of the late Chris Farley that is both touching and brutally honest. An oral account of the comedian's life, it is told through quotes of the people who knew him at his best and at his worst. It details his childhood, his career in comedy, and the addiction to drugs and alcohol that would ultimately be his undoing. It's perfect for fans of Matt Foley, those interested in SNL stars, or just anyone curious about the dark side of comedy. Love, love, loved it!

k
kindrabirss
Nov 25, 2014

At first I didn't care for the format of the book. It's written with little blurbs by family and friends, that strung together, make a complete picture and takes you through the life of Chris Farley. About a third of the way through, I really started to enjoy it; I think because Chris Farley was such a magnetic person, even the stories of him sucked me in and I wanted to know more. It was so sad to learn of his severe addictions, and how hard he tried to beat his demons.

c
Cmw8319
Apr 06, 2014

Enjoyable book. Some funny and of course sad stories told by family, friends and co-workers.

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
acyoungquist
Mar 16, 2019

“What you see in that sketch is the actual Chris Farley being happy that the actual Paul McCartney is telling him that there is an infinite amount of love in the world, and that someday that love will come back to him.” (Ian Maxtone-Graham, 326)

a
acyoungquist
Mar 16, 2019

“Chris didn’t feel that he was worthy of God‘s love. He felt he had to prove himself. Well, you’re never going to get very far in any relationship with that kind of belief. Imagine if you had to prove yourself to your spouse every day; that’s not the way love works.” (Fr. Tom Gannon, 289)

a
acyoungquist
Mar 16, 2019

“When you receive love, it releases you from the things that trouble you. Just knowing that someone cares about you can give you strength and courage. And I always believed that it was Chris’s love for Willie, and the things he did for Willie, that finally set him free.” (Sr. Peggy McGirl, 170)

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top