The Sorcerer of the North

The Sorcerer of the North

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone !

Time has passed since the apprentice and his master, Will and Halt, led the Araluens to victory against invaders, and Will is now a full-fledged Ranger with his own fief to look after. The fief seems sleepy-boring, even-until the king is poisoned. Joined by his friend Alyss, Will is thrown headfirst into an extraordinary adventure propelled by fears of sorcery, and must determine who is trustworthy to the king and who is trying to take his throne.

Will and Alyss must battle growing hysteria, traitors, and most of all, time. The king is fading, but when Alyss is taken hostage, Will is forced to make a desperate choice between loyalty to his mission and loyalty to his friend.

Adventure abounds in this absorbing installment of the New York Times bestselling series.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Publisher: New York, NY : Philomel Books, 2008
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN: 9780399250323
Branch Call Number: YA FLA
Characteristics: 295 p


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 06, 2017

Epic fifth instalment in Flanagan's bestselling series… I enjoyed the mystery aspect to this book. Intriguing, captivating, and well done.

BTW, there was a spelling error on page 268 and on the back cover.

May 19, 2017

In this suspenseful book in the series, The Ranger’s Apprentice, Will has finally been given his first mission as a full-fledged ranger. He must travel to a remote fief in the north, Macindaw, to investigate a sorcerer situation in the woods near the castle. The castle and surrounding population are frozen with fear and the Lord of the castle, Syron has fallen ill under an unidentified sickness. And everyone blames the events on the sorcerer. Will, traveling in the disguise of a common jongleur, soon finds out that some people are not who they seem to be and some are hiding more secrets than can be perceived at the first glance. As sure of the situation Will was before, now he does not know who to trust. A sure read for those who like stories in the Narnian sense.
- @KingofTales30 of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

Apr 17, 2017

An awesome book, just like the rest of the series. Although I wish I read Erak's Ransom first.

ChristchurchTeens Feb 07, 2017

The most important characters in this book are Will and Halt. Will and Halt are two rangers that go on a long journey to kill the evil sorcerer, because people have gone missing and been getting killed in the north.

This is an amazing book to read because in some parts it’s really funny, but it has lots of action too. The Sorcerer in the North is a great book for young adults because this particular book has some swearing in it.

Reviewed by Ryan

Mar 23, 2016

For a much more detailed review, check out this book on my blog!

This is a fantastic addition to the series! It was engaging, interesting, mysterious, dark, and suspenseful, and every chapter left me wanting more! Though there wasn’t much action, Flanagan has a way of making the story entertaining anyway. Since the book was most definitely left on a cliffhanger be prepared to read the next one. I highly recommend reading these books in order to fully enjoy the characters and so you don’t jump into the middle of one of the story arcs.

Jul 19, 2015

Awesome book book bot there is a cliffhanger at the end.

Jun 16, 2015

I read the first half-dozen Ranger's Apprentice books to my boys when they were little to tween-aged, and they were a fave series for them, me AND my husband.
I think of all the Ranger's Apprentice stories, this one is my fave. You get the chance to see several of the youth coming into their own, and there is a lot of that youthful antics going on as they work through the challenges they face together as well.
The story carries over into "The Siege of Macindaw", so you'll want to make sure to have it close at hand as you finish up this book.

Jul 08, 2014

I liked this book. It read a bit like a mystery as opposed to you're typical run of the mill medieval fantasy, so I liked that. I also liked the slower pace, so that the plot seemed less rushed. In addition, the villan of the story was a better character than that weirdo morgorath, or the temujai, who were never described in detail. Finally, whatever people tell you, DO. NOT. READ. ERAK'S. RANSOM. FIRST!!!!!

May 19, 2014

It's an amazing book.

May 19, 2014

Great series suitable for young adult to older peeps like me.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Nov 06, 2017

Gwen904 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Jul 05, 2016

maroon_dolphin_105 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

May 26, 2014

Blue_Buffalo_52 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 1 and 99

orange_tiger_1257 Jan 08, 2013

orange_tiger_1257 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Jul 25, 2012

musicwithdance thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 99

Jan 21, 2012

FuNkYbOoKwOrM thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over


Add Notices

Nov 06, 2017

Violence: Mild violence.

Jun 09, 2014

Other: Read Book 7 (Erak's Ransom) before you read this.

Jan 21, 2012

Violence: Contains low level violence.


Add a Quote

Nov 06, 2017

"I try. Often it's enough for them to know they belong somewhere. That there are other people who don't judge them by the way they look. Mind you, it takes time. It's a lot easier to heal an injured body than a damaged soul." - Malcolm of Grimsdell Wood

Jun 15, 2015

People seldom look up.


Add a Summary

Jan 21, 2012

Will is called to investigate mysterious happenings in the north.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PMPL

To Top