Bringing Back the Dodo

Bringing Back the Dodo

Lessons in Natural and Unnatural History

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A penetrating book on the very roots of our relationship with nature. Bringing Back the Dodois about how the forces of evolution and extinction have shaped the living world, and the part that humans play therein. This strikingly thought-provoking book, in the tradition of John McPhee and David Quammen, explores the very roots of our relationship with nature and challenges us to look at ourselves and the natural world around us in new light. Wayne Grady searches our history and prehistory to explain why humans love nature and fear it at the same time. He explores the repercussions of our manipulations of nature through science, as exemplified by the Harvard Mouse, and suggests which extinct species we could clone (sadly, probably not the dodo), and whether we ought to try. He looks into the ramifications of getting up on our hind legs to walk, and what it meant to humankind when we lost our nocturnal vision. A visit to the supermarket leads him to uncover our vestigial longing for subtropical foods, and elsewhere he ponders how our instinct for "home" compares to that of other animals. These elegant and penetrating essays, based on pieces originally published in Explore magazine, linger long in the imagination. They speak to some of our most fundamental questions about the human and animal worlds, and confirm Wayne Grady's standing as one of our foremost literary science writers.
Publisher: Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, 2006
ISBN: 9780771035043
0771035047
Branch Call Number: 304 .2 GRA
Characteristics: 233 p. ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

1
1aa
Dec 31, 2016

For a collection of columns (revised for this book), this group of essays hangs together rather well. Only the last one is the oddball, but its the best of the set. There are lots of interesting facts mentioned, but only adduced to make a point in the essay. There are no notes or bibliography; a real shame for it would have added to anyone's list of books to look into.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top